DIY Sweet Lolita Dress with Sleeves

 I’ll try my best to explain the process to give you a hint of how to do things…

I am sorry since I got really indulged in making this project that I forgot to take photos of each step

Again, I am NOT AN EXPERT IN SEWING, I just used some common sense in sewing to put things together. THIS IS ALSO NOT YET COMPLETE since I ran out of fabric. I bought 2 yards of fabric, and I learned though this project that I should’ve bought AT LEAST 3-5 yards of fabric if the dress has sleeves, and if I want it to be ruffle-ish/fluffy

Let’s get started!!!

First thing to do is to have a design and pick a fabric of your choice, again you should at least have 3-5 yards of fabric.

Next is to prepare your materials: fabric, lining, patterns, scissors, marker, tape measure, elastic thread, matching threads, sewing machine, lace, embellishments (if there are any).

P_20160319_145534_1_p.jpg

Carefully draft your pattern based on your own measurements (I made my pattern using an existing basic blouse pattern) There are free basic blouse patterns online or you can watch a tutorial video at youtube on how to make one.

Pin your pattern on to the wrong side of your fabric and trace it. Leave an ample amount of seam allowance as you cut your fabric.

P_20160325_091950_1_p.jpg

As you can see, I added 4 inches at the back of my blouse since I am going to shir an elastic thread (Iam not going to use a zipper).

P_20160403_205254_1_p.jpg

I also added 4 inches on my basic sleeve pattern since I am going to gather it to make it a puff sleeve. My darts are exactly placed based on my waist line ans bust height. There tutorials about marking darts on to your blouse.

Remember that you should always do whatever you did to your main fabric to your lining fabric. In my case I used a light weight fabric as my lining. I used a zig-zag stitch on the edges to finish them off after that, I sewn the pieces of my bodice together ( right side facing each other), leaving the bottom of the bodice open so that I can turn them inside out. Set your bodice aside.

P_20160403_205151_1_p.jpg

Sew your sleeves and lining together then sew them on to the bodice. Gather the sleeves then used use elastic shirring at the bottom of the sleeves to make it look puffy.

I didn’t use a circle skirt in this project but a rectangular skirt instead. Measure the circumference of your bodice (around your bodice), that’ll be the length of your skirt. Measure how long you want your skirt to be (that’ll be the width of the skirt). Hem or serge your fabrics (main and lining) then, sew them together. Sew a running stitch with the longest stitch length and width ( do not lock the stitch) and then gather your skirt by pulling one string/end.

P_20160403_205333_1_p.jpg

Gather the skirt based on the bodice’s circumference and then sew the skirt on to the bodice (wrong side). Turn your skirt and bodice inside out once sewn together.

VIOLA!!! You made your own sweet lolita dress… 

My lining is longer than my main fabric because I ran out of fabric and I still wanted to add another layer of ruffles using the same fabric (strawberry print) at the bottom, so I am going to just leave my lining there.

P_20160325_203248_1_p.jpg

 My dress is also too plain (It doesn’t have any bows and laces yet) because I also ran out of lace aside from fabric.So this dress needs a lot of lace and bows to complete the look.

For the headdress, I am going to use 2 big bows tied together. I sewn two rectangles ( 8″x5″ and 10″x5″), attached lace on each end. Pinch the center of the rectangle to gather it then use the same fabric to ties them then, use hand stitching at the back to hold the bow in place. Slip your head band once you sewn your bows togeher.

I might also make cuffs. Simply measure the circumference of your wrists and how wide you want your cuffs to be. Draft them and trace it on to the fabric. Cut your pattern and hem the edges. Add lace, ribbons, gems or bows you can try searching the internet for designs and inspirations. Use an automatic to lock your cuffs or you may also use velcro, ribbons, buttons, etc. (depending upon your taste).

[I’m gonna update this tutorial once I get the time to buy more fabric and lace]

Thoughts to ponder

1. If your dress have sleeves and lots of bows and ruffles you should buy at least 5 yards of fabric.

2. Use a rectangular type of skirt because it’s more fluffy than a circle skirt.

3. Never wear your skirt without a petticoat (I already made one)

4. Never ran out of lace!!!

5. The cuter the better!!!

B.Y.E.

Leave a Reply

